Meet CAFMA Member Brandi Vigil!

BV Pic 1. How would you describe yourself to a stranger?

I am a California native embracing and loving all that Chicago has to offer. As a scholar-activist pursuing my PhD in Criminology, Law and Justice at UIC, I embrace opportunities to learn from, support and work with others. I enjoy time at home with my partner and dogs, but I also love to dance. My all-time favorite animal is an orca whale and one of my favorite places to be is the ocean.

2. How did you become interested in Marissa’s case?

I became interested in Marissa’s case after reading several posts. Being unfamiliar with her case at first, I made several attempts to learn as much as I could about it from whatever sources existed. As I tried to learn more, I found myself dumbfounded and the treatment of her and blatant injustice. Shortly after of learning about Marissa’s case Project Nia offered a Teach-In, allowing for a more in-depth learning opportunity and direct ways to support Marissa.

3. If you could share a message with Marissa, what would you say?

Marissa, you are so brave. A mother, a woman, a survivor…your strength shines through to many. I care and support you and will continue to believe in you.

Leave a Reply

