Meet CAFMA Member, Albert Murphy!

mr murphy 1. How would you describe yourself to a stranger?

I’m a budding scholar who is introverted, kind hearted and very curious. I have been pursuing my education at UIC but in pursuit of getting my degree, I started finding out about the social inequalities that exist in society so I feel compelled to help other concerned people/activist to do something about it when I can. I work alot so I like to contribute to social justice causes when my schedule allows me to do so. Other than that, I like to read random stuff and watch educational videos on youtube related to history, sociology, and various other issues.

2. How did you become interested in Marissa’s case?

I became interested in Marissa’s case when I kept reading blog post or short articles about it. I couldn’t ignore it because every few scrolls there was something about her coming down my Facebook news feed. Last summer, I had the opportunity to spend 4 weeks at UIC’s Social Justice Initiative. The scholar/activist facilitated workshops that taught us about oppression and how they intersected with some of today’s most controversial issues talked about narrowly in the media – like immigration, politics, labor, mass incarceration, racism, youth violence, etc – and stressed the important for us as people to mobilize to do something constructive to fight against oppressive structures. There were many things going on last summer, the Trayvon Martin trial, the FBI labeling Assata Shakur a terrorist, proposals for massive school closings, mass shootings, children dying from community violence; the list can go on and on. However, after the Trayvon case, I started to pay closer attention to Marissa’s case.

3. If you could share a message with Marissa, what would you say?

I’m not sure of what I would say.

It’s unfortunate to see you be to face such harsh circumstances of oppression by her husband and now the judicial system. I believe that you can overcome these challenges and you will.

