Meet CAFMA Member, Monica Trinidad!

1393169_652711774779319_1645416328_n 1. How would you describe yourself to a stranger?

I’m a (relatively) quiet artist, organizer, writer and zinester. I am a co-founder of Brown and Proud Press (a Chicago-based POC writing/zine-making collective) and do prisoner support work with a local organization. When I’m not reading articles and books that make me angry/teach me valuable things, I like to have marathon Netflix nights and knit. I also enjoy buzzfeeds featuring kittens, funny babies and awkward human moments.

2. How did you become interested in Marissa’s case?

I heard Marissa’s story through a posting by Project NIA on facebook. I was appalled – yet sadly not surprised – at the judge’s immediate rejection for Marissa to invoke the “Stand Your Ground” law, given the systematic criminalization of women of color. The alarming juxtaposition to the George Zimmerman case really peaked my awareness/anger and I immediately began corresponding with her.

3. If you could share a message with Marissa, what would you say?

Marissa, you’re going to make it through this! You have a force of support behind you and we will not be silent.

